Pages in time

readingJust few days back one of my friend asked me “if I really read books, that I keep updating my status on Facebook”. So here is the answer to it.

Reading is an old companion of mine which had somehow lost its way few years back is now back with me. I recollect very well during my school & college days whenever I had free time , apart from playing with my friends I use to read books. Well at that time I use to read comic books like Archies, Tintin, Tinkle, Phantom, etc.

As time went by I somehow lost the habit. Maybe I was too busy with other things or rather there were other things which were more interesting than reading.

After all these years it so happened that one of my friends PC send me a pdf of Chetan Bhagat’s book through mail. Initially without much interest I started reading it. As I scrolled through page by page everyday (I only use to read during my travel in train to office) That interest of reading started latched on all over again. PC Thanks for waking up the out-of-action reading habit within me. By the time I finished the book I was looking forward to more reading. I started exploring options of reading books and then my cousin SS told me of couple of places where I can get books to read on rental basis incase I don’t want to buy. Meanwhile I already had purchase few books online to read on Kindle app.

So here on again I found my old pal in way of reading books. Reading helps me get peace of mind. Reading helps me run down memory lane of my young days. Reading helps me to gain strength and become more stronger (ofcourse not physical strength). Now I always carry a book with me and always looking for an opportunity to read it.

I am not a person who can finish a book at one go but if the topic/story is interesting then I do wanna finish the book at rapid pace. I like to read more of non-fiction books. I do prefer to read paper books as compare to ebooks; the reason as to why i prefer paper books is over here…

It’s not only myself but my wife and my daughter (only during holidays) have got into the habit of reading. I and my wife between us, many times do give ratings of the common books which we read.

There is a nice handy website www.goodreads.com through which i keep track of my friend’s book list and also I can check which book has better rating and how many books an author has published till now.

You can also go through my book shelf by clicking here..

Leave a Reply

