Routine – please wait ……

gettingintoaroutineYour boss calls you for an early morning meeting in the office the next day and early means well before office hours.  Well as soon as I get this instruction, I start to make a mental note that I need to wake up early and get my thoughts together of what’s to be done such that I’m not late for this early morning meeting at the office.

First off, I need to inform my wife that I will be leaving early the next day, so that’s a head start to figuring out my lunch. Next on the list is the meeting agenda  and ensure that the work which I had been assigned to me is completed and handed over to him before the start of the meeting.

Well, a small change in a day’s schedule and a lot of things needs to be taken care off. This happens when one follows a proper routine life.

Routine means a sequence of actions regularly followed. Routine is said to be good. Routine helps oneself to be disciplined in life.

A routine life means getting up everyday at a fixed time, leaving for office at that fixed time, catching that same train everyday, grabbing a fixed seat on the train, walking down the same road to your office and in between praying, reading, taking power nap and of course catching up on the usual social networking sites with friends until I reach office. That’s my daily morning schedule for weekdays.

Once I report to office my schedule goes for toss. There is no fixed time for lunch (but most of the days I try to have it at a fix time). There is no fixed time to leave from office. No fixed time to catch evening train back home. This means no fixed time to reach home and have your dinner too.

Weekends are even more random. No fixed time to get up in the morning. Weekends means finishing personal as well as household chores, spending time with family and friends, taking up my daughter’s studies and ofcourse partying out in the evening which sometime extends to wee hours of the morning. 🙂

In this “rat race” life where everyone is running to meet their daily ends, following a “routine” is very dicey. I often think that if I was really trying to follow a routine schedule for the full day then my life would have been very monotonous; same things to do everyday.

But yes I plan my things to do and either I mentally note it down or I note on my phone todo list. This atleast helps me to be disciplined and be in “routine” with my life! 🙂

What routine do you go by or do you have a routine at all? What system works for you?

Let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

