Power of Power nap …

In our hectic life schedule we hardly get to sleep for 5-7 hours in a day as against the normal sleep of 8 hours (highly recommended). This deficiency of sleep leads to instability and hampers our day-to-day routine life; be it studies, play or work.

Well many a times it happens that one has a late night studying, outing, partying or working and the next day you have to report on-time for studies or work. Somehow getting up in the morning seems easy but in the afternoon your eyes just refuse to remain open no matter how much ever you try to bribe your eyes by sprinkling water, having a pot of coffee (yes, I did say pot 🙂 ), slapping yourself (which I am sure no one does 😉 ) … nothing works and your eyeballs just want to take rest. No matter where you are or what you are doing, you cannot pay attention to what is going on around you and you just want to doze off. So the best solution is to have a Power Nap.

So what’s a power nap? Well a power nap is a short nap that is only about 10-30 minutes and can give some people sparks of energy in the body that might be needed to make it through the rest of your day.

525px-Power-Nap-Step-3

I have been practicing this technique for a long time. Whenever I feel that I have not been able to complete my sleep the previous night and the following day when my eyes just cannot bear the heavy load of sleep and is forced to shut down, I do take a power nap. I remember I had a power nap during one of my exams in my college, where in the previous night I was awake till wee hours studying and then in the exam hall I could not hold on and I asked my supervisor to wake me exactly in 15 minutes and rightly he did so. Believe me I cleared out with flying numbers. I have my power naps while traveling in the train, bus, taxi and in office too. I feel energetic up after having a power nap which usually last not more than 10-15 minutes only.

There are many companies like British Airways, Google, Proctor & Gamble, Nike and Pizza Hut which have special nap pods or napping rooms with reclining chairs specifically designed for sweet power naps.

Trust me whenever you hit a sleepy wall, try to take a power nap and I bet you will wake up more charged up and ready to take on the rest of your day.

Leave a Reply

