The wait to see your loved one…

Yesterday night I went to pick up one of my best buddy from new T2 airport in Mumbai. He was coming from US after a gap of almost 2 years. It was my first visit to the T2 terminal the new one which is much talked about by all Mumbaikars. Indeed entering the vicinity of the airport made me feel like I am in some other world. It is nicely made and well maintained. Feel proud of this so-called world-class-make-over of Mumbai International airport terminal. I am not writing this post to promote the new airport terminal nor am I paid for appreciating it, so I end this over here.

Back to track again. My friend’s father wanted to accompany me to pick up his son from airport. Uncle called me in the morning and said “I would like to join you to pick up my son”.
I said “No problem uncle. I will meet you in the evening.” and decided a point to meet. I have a big car and can easily manage 3 of us with luggage while returning back.
Just before leaving my home I called up uncle to say “I am leaving now. Meet you in 10 minutes at the decided place.”
Uncle immediately said “Beta (son), can you come inside the building and pick me as I am little unwell.”
“Yes no worries” was my prompt response. My friend’s building is situated little inside the main road.

Uncle got in the car and I noticed that he had his sweater put on and muffler round his neck. I again asked him “Uncle if you are unwell, you can rest at home. I can go alone and pickup my friend”.
To this he immediately replied “No, its ok, I will manage and I have promised my son that I will come personally to pick him” and I could see the glow in his eyes. I felt confidence in his voice too.

Parents always like to have their kids around them. They always feel high and confident by their presence around them. Yesterday I noticed the same in my friend’s dad. His son was coming after almost 2 years and his eagerness to see him made him forget all his worries and illness. Although technology has helped to see each other even when you are miles apart but seeing personally is way beyond description. I also was having the similar feeling. Seeing my best buddy after a long time makes me nostalgic. While at the waiting area, my mind went through the past days, me and my friend had spent together. And in-between, twice uncle said “here he comes, wait … no … he is not that one”. This is bound to happen when one is so desperately waiting for someone than that person can feel and see his/her face in all others. I also have personally felt it many times and I am sure you all also must have at some point of time.

I also went through the same feeling. Few years back I was away from my home in US for around 5 months and my returning back home ignited full energy in everyone. I clearly remember my daughter hugged me tight and was not ready to leave me at all. She was with me all through the way home till the time she went to sleep.

It does not matter how much we grow but we always remain kids for our parents. Their love and affection never reduces. Even my parents, especially my dad, till date wait for me incase myself and/or my brother are out for party and will be reaching late home. He will only have a peaceful sleep once I and/or my brother are back to home. The same goes with me too. Even though my daughter is small, but I get impatient if her school bus comes late by few minutes.

Such is the true and selfless love between parents and kids.

8 thoughts on “The wait to see your loved one…

Leave a Reply

