Old technique but innovative idea

I am sure reading this will bring some smile on your face and in-fact I also had a broad smile too. No it is not a joke or any whatsapp message that made me smile. Actually it is a letter I received today morning. Yes an “Inland Letter Card” which I received by post, made me smile. It has been ages I have seen the Inland letter card and I almost had forgotten the look and colour of it.Inlland letter card

Inland letter card (अंतर्देशीय पत्र कार्ड) was introduced by Indian Post Office way back on 20th September 1969 (am feeling happy about the date as on 20th September I also came into this world). No doubts that Inland letter’s design and colour has gone through lots of changes all through these years.

What made me smile is that in today’s time where technology is at its peak, I am still receiving Inland letter card. As soon as I got it in my hand I was very much anxious to know the sender and what would be the news inside it. To send mailers to clients and that too in an Inland letter in today’s age seems to be an obsolete idea. Right from utility bills, bank statements, education results, company reports, etc are all received via e-mail. Upon opening the same, to my surprise, it’s a mailer from none other than the biggest global technology company IBM.

What on Earth IBM must have thought of sending such a mailer? Technology has advance so much that a simple click of a button can send thousands of such e-mailers in a second. And I do receive many such e-mailers in a day. Come on IBM please grow up and stop sending such Inland letter card to your clients. It is waste of paper, money and time. These were the thoughts which popped up at the first go even without reading the content of it.

After reading the full content of the letter which actually turned out IBM promoting their new mailing solution and trying to showcase of using an old way of mailing solution can hamper the work and switch over to their latest way of communication mode. This actually justified why had they sent a mailer as an Inland letter card and not an e-mailer. Well, it is a nice innovative way of promoting new business.

It’s a normal human mentality to jump to a conclusion very soon. We take things into granted and decide the course of action. Such action many times leads to wrong paths.

Listening is a good habit. Many people think that listening is a very easy skill or is a part of our personality but neither is right. In-fact poor listening habit is very common within all of us. Today, I also did the same and started concluding many things. So, try to be a good listener and enrich your capacity to understand yourself as well as others.

2 thoughts on “Old technique but innovative idea

  1. pinky patel

    But hp…Wat ..was…The new promoting…solution….
    but yes I agree abt that v always jump to a conclusion. .before listening…..
    that’s the human tendency.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

