Kids style of being fashionable

“I will not wear this … I want to wear that only…. This is not fitting me…. It hurts me when I wear it …..” I am sure you all must have heard these lines; especially mom’s who are reading this post of mine.

Now-a-days the younger generation kids, I mean the Generation Z kids (meaning theybenefits-of-kids-choosing-clothes are born after year 2000) have developed the habit of becoming very choosy about what to wear and what not to wear. These young kids are very adamant about what they want to wear. These kids even want to shop for their own clothes incase their parents happen to buy for them something without their consent then it’s a big task for the parents to convince them to wear it. Such stubbornness from the younger generation is not only for clothes but for many more things, like shoes, accessories, school bags, infact for all that these kids use or wear.

I clearly remember my young childhood days, almost 3 decades back, where in I use to wear and use all those things which my parents gave me. I never protested for anything and I am sure you all were on the same page as me.

My niece is just 5 years old and has all the “nakharas” in terms of dressing up. She is too picky n choosy and will only wear clothes as per her choice and not what we have decided for her. Even while buying clothes we ensure that she is present and approves it or else many a times it has happened that the clothes are just lying in her cupboard and not worn once also. My niece actually knows what type of clothes to wear and on which occasion.

She will have all the reasons in the world incase she does not want to wear a particular thing. And I must say that her convincing power is so good that her mom has no choice but to agree with her. She is choosy not only for clothes, but for her water bottle, shoes, hair accessories, bags and even perfumes too.

The same goes with my 9 years daughter too. Even she is not far behind in the choosy race. Her wardrobe is full of her selected clothes. My daughter is fond of t-shirts and jeans compare to typical frocks and churidars. Not only designs or colours but the style also does matter to her. So, whenever we go shopping for my daughter we ensure that she accompanies us. Even when I do online shopping, I first show the pictures to my daughter for her approval and then I place the order 🙂

This clearly shows the power of generation Z kids and we as parents cannot impose things on them easily. Time has definitely changed from those days where we readily used to accept everything from our parents to now seeking approval from our kids. Once I had overheard a kid asking her mom that all her friend’s mom wear western clothes and why is it that you never wear it. Such is the high expectations from small kids who feel they should not be left behind.

We as parents have to realise that our kids are pretty fast learners and they have good grasping powers. I feel it is we who would need to adjust with them rather than expecting them to get adjusted with us.

4 thoughts on “Kids style of being fashionable

Leave a Reply

