With love and gratitude….

Diwali (the festival of Lights celebrated across India) came and went like a blink of an eye. This Diwali was usual, had a long weekend leave (4 days) from office, giving me all the time to spend with family and friends. This Diwali there were lots of messages floating around in the social media to have noise as well as pollution free Diwali, but I could not contribute in any of the above. We (my daughter and my niece) did burst crackers which are the tradition but keeping in mind to keep the noise level in control hence only enjoyed fire crackers which did not make noise.

Meeting family members; as well as friends; consuming lots of sweets and all type of homely made “farsan” (a collective term used for a type of snacks in Maharashtrian cuisine and Gujarati cuisine, from the Indian state of Maharashtra and Gujarat) was the highlight of this Diwali. Also I managed to catch lots of sleep in those 4 days which I am normally denied off 🙂

Joy of givingBut one mailer, a physical letter in our home mail box made my Diwali special. This mailer from Society of the Helpers of Mary “Prem Sadan” brought lots of happiness in me. It’s a Happy Diwali greeting letter (although little late; but I always think better late than never). About Prem Sadan, it’s an orphanage only for girls managed and run by few a Nuns. Lately, I along with a few of my other friends had visited them twice; if you recollect my earlier post of Happiness and Joy of Giving (Part 1 and Part 2). It is really a nice gesture from them to send a seasons greeting letter which shows that we are still remembered by them.

I know it’s a small thing but such little gestures give me happiness and make me feel lighter. After reading the letter, the firmness of helping others (a drive along with my other friends which we started few months back will never be stopped and always try our best to run in full swing). Thanks to KP, PK and JN/NN for your contribution and hoping for long cooperation from you all.

I am attaching the scan copy of the letter.

Prem Sadan

Leave a Reply

