Low cost flying-is it relevant

Today as I entered the flight for Bengaluru here is the conversation between 2 guys; one ahead of me (I will tag him as dude 1) and another already in his seat (tagged as dude 2).

As the dude 1 approaches near dude 2 …

Dude 2 – hey hi. how’s you ? where are you upto?

Me thinking – obviously to Bangalore as this flight is non stop to Bangalore.

Dude 1 – for office work and smiles.

Dude 2 – oh ok. but how come you in low-cost airline ?

Again me thinking – huh ? Low cost? Ok I did not mention I was traveling in Indigo. But the fare amount is almost the same as other airliners.

Dude 1 – with a smiling face, moving ahead said to dude 1 catch you later and have a nice day ahead.

The point “low-cost airline” is still in my mind. How did that guy differentiate and concluded that indigo is a low-cost airline. Although I am not that “high” frequent flyer but when ever I have traveled I did not find much difference in fares of so-called “low-cost” airlines (mainly SpiceJet, Indigo or Go Air or Jetkonnect). The fares are pretty much or rather almost at par with other airlines (Jet Airways or Air India).

I am aware that Indigo, SpiceJet, Go Air do run promos and offers flying on low-cost but they have fixed destinations and specific dates to fly. Even Jet Airways also runs such promos.

Ok at some point I do buy the idea of “low cost” airline but in one way or other these low cost airlines ends up with the price of normal airlines. Low cost airlines charge you for booking some premium seats, also charges for food served during the flight and no loyalty points too. Whereas other airlines do not charge anything for seat booking and serves food at no cost and not to forget the bonus miles you can collect which helps you to redeem at later stage.

I know you must be thinking that I am promoting some airlines or rather trying to sell their products. Nothing like that sort. I travel and have been traveling in all sort of airlines till now.

My point is, there is hardly any difference in fares in any airlines (unless you are traveling in odd or wee hours) Or it is that a new aviation company has just launched its service. My take for low-cost flying should be really “low” (say half the price). Staying in country like India and city like Mumbai one might never get to fly in really a low-cost fare.

All in all am having a good flight while I am penning down my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

