Time – Where do I find it?

father-daughter-holding-hands

Today morning as I got up I realised that we have lots of time in this world but actually running short of time every day. Our hectic life, be it work, family, friends or anything else eats up our time in a day tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-143 .

Except for weekends and for some people only Sundays we get time for our kids. How much time do we spend with them in a week? Counting 16 hours in a day (leaving 7-8 hours of sleep which is a must for normal human beings), how many hours in a day we spend with our kids? Monday to Friday we all are busy with our daily routine schedules. The amount of work pressure plus travelling time leaves us with no energy at the end of the day. I leave my home at sharp 8.05 am to catch my daily routine train and also to reach office on time. We all have a fixed time to leave from home but there is no fixed return time from office. Normally I am back by 8.30 pm which is dinner time. So am out of home for approx 12 hours in a day. My daughter has her school from 11.30 am to 5.30 pm which means by the time I leave home in the morning she is still in bed or half awake. This leaves me with only 2-3 hours a day in the evening during the week which I can spend with her, in which case she has her home work to complete, her extra curricular classes (thrice a week) which gets over at 9 pm. So at the end of the day we both (myself and my daughter) are exhausted and hardly have any energy left to do any more activities.

It is only the weekends wherein I ensure myself to spend most of my time with her. Again on Saturday mornings also she has her extra curricular activities. After dropping her at class, I finish my pending weekend work. Afternoon is the time where I take her studies, revision, homework or worksheets for the exams (only maths and computer, rest of the subjects my wife manages). Sundays are lazy days and I spend my full day with my family. I play with my daughter as per her like; cycling, skating, cricket in the society compound, etc… Sunday evenings are always out with family followed by dinner 🙂 .

I realised that we all are (atleast I am) living such a mechanical life where in we are forced to move as per the clock hands and hence we have no time to experience smaller joys of life.

So Yes, I will have to bring a change in my lifestyle so that I can spend more and more time with my daughter. In a few years she will be old enough to spend most of her time with friends and we will be left at our own mercy. Any suggestions??

6 thoughts on “Time – Where do I find it?

  1. Shweta

    Truly agree with everything you say. I am glad you bought your daughter in picture… but more often than not we don’t even have time for ourselves… And when kids in picture.. How do you manage to find time with your family?? Your wife?? Your parents?? Even they are getting older by the day…. Too much on our plates and too little time…
    I suggest..
    Night walks/drives/ playing sessions with daughter… And also one weekend a month an outing with the family…
    A little tough but realistic 🙂

    Reply
    1. hemangfans Post author

      Hi. I do agree that we have to manage family, parents and wife. I know all of us at getting older. But my point is my daughter once she reaches certain age she will like to spend more time with her friends as compare with us. So later on I don’t wanna regret for the same. But your suggestions noted. Thanks.

      Reply
  2. Maulik Shah

    My 2 cents:

    1. Pay off your home if you have mortgage
    2. Don’t take new debt – Debt is slavery
    3. Reduce your desires for materialistic things in life … live minimalist life (control your desires so that you buy things that you need vs things that you want)
    4. Understand what you are passionate about and spend more and more time and see how you can monetize your passion – net, become an entrepreneur. This is the only way you can get out of mechanical life we all live.
    5. Become financially savvy – it is very very critical to learn how to manage your finances so that your money works for you. We will make mistakes along the way, but make sure we don’t make big mistakes that will put our financial life in danger.

    Reply
    1. hemangfans Post author

      Hi, all 5 points noted. i am happy that first 2 points are not applicable to me. Rest 3 points very well will be followed. Thanks for the suggestion. Cheers buddy.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

