First visit to Native place

Finally the much awaited first ever trip to my native place ended with lots of good memories in my mind which I will never ever be able to erase it.

The feeling of being part of that place made me feel nostalgic. Our ancestors and great grandfather’s had lived there once upon a time. Today we have nothing of ours in that village. But the type of hospitality and warm welcome we got from the fellow villagers was very much a surprise package to me. Many people know my father very well as lately he has been a frequent visitor to our native place. Being my first visit to my native place made me feel proud of it.

As my earlier blog had mentioned, the curiosity in me of wanting to know the types of houses and what will people be doing in the village was very much within me. Although what I had pictured in my mind was a typical village which we use to draw in our school life in our drawing periods with mud houses and lantern hanging out side; people gathering at ‘chowk’ for daily ‘gupsup’ (gossips) with their hookah in their hand has now changed. Bricks and stones houses have replaced mud houses, proper 24 hours electricity has taken over oil lanterns (thanks to the Gujarat government for providing electricity and water at such interior places). Cigarettes and ready-made pan masala have replaced hookahs too.

My wanting to know more type of nature made me enquire more about my native place. The total population staying in that village is approx 3000 people and there are approx 700 houses in all. The area spans around 4 kms in diameter. People have big houses of their own typically 300-500 sq vaars (incase you don’t know what is vaar then 1 sq. vaar = 9 sq. foot) and also have lots of empty land which they use for farming seasonally. A typical house will have a ‘verandah‘ (a typical open gallery), separate place for cattle (mostly cows), a big living room and minimum of 3-4 bedrooms 🙂 .

Although we had a very short trip and we just spend a couple of hours in our native place but the feeling of freshness in the air with almost zero pollution, smell of cow dung (still used for cooking as well as for farming purpose), sound of cows mooing, dogs littering around, muddy roads, small lanes and the sight of tractor make you feel on top of the world. Such environment and feeling one will never get to see in any metropolitan cities.

The type of life people living in village really keeps me guessing if I have to stay for one week in village then how will I survive. Everything is slow-moving. It seems like God has pressed a slow motion button. Our mind and body will not get adjusted to such slow-moving life easily. I feel that we are the ones who are running around for everything and end result is we are gaining nothing but living a stressful life.

For those interested to see the pics which I have clicked, please scroll down to see more.

IMG_6434

IMG_6435

IMG_6436

IMG_6443

IMG_6444

IMG_6445

Hoping for many more such visits in near future 🙂 .

2 thoughts on “First visit to Native place

  1. irispinto16

    Great to know that you had a good time at your native place with your family. It definitely is a different world by itself unlike the usual hustle n bustle that we are used to. Hope you have many more trips there in the future 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

