Native place…. what is that?

This is something I cannot describe and a bit challenging for me. The reason being I never have been to my native place till now. We are originally from Gujarat …. a remote village named Thaniyara which is approx 16 kms from Junagadh district in Gujarat.

My father was born in Thaniyara. My late grandfather migrated to Mumbai somewhere in mid 1950s and got settled here. I was born and bought up in Mumbai. So now we have no roots at all in the village. Even no ancestral home or any property exists which could had made us visit the native place atleast once.

So why am I writing all this? You guessed it right. I am visiting my native place along with the family for the first time. This has created a big excitement inside me. Not only myself but even my daughter is pretty excited to visit it. I can clearly see how she is eagerly waiting to go there. She is just counting how many days left for the trip. Everyday she mentions about the native place and asks me lots of questions; like how is the place? which hotel we are staying over there? what type of restaurant will be available? will we get idli, dosa, pav-bhaji to eat? And I have to explain her that Thaniyara is a small village with not even proper tar road and hardly any public transportation available to reach. There are no hotels or restaurants as such and we will be staying at Junagadh.

I tried google of my native place but could not find any more details or any images too. So this keeps me wondering on how will my village look like? Will it be typical small types where the houses are made of mud and oil lamps are the only means of getting some light during the night? Do people gather in a “chowk” (a common place which is usually in the middle of the village market) during day time playing cards with smoking hookah in their hand? What will be the total population of the village? All these open questions has help to develop a picture in my mind which I also am waiting to see myself.

With all this and lots more in my mind I am looking forward for a maiden exciting trip to my native place.

6 thoughts on “Native place…. what is that?

  1. Pingback: First visit to Native place | hemangfans

Leave a Reply

